Reflecting on Topic 3

Kate’s post commented on how being dedicated to a non-profit task can help you stand out from the crowd. Tom’s post flagged just that, he managed to attract an employer by setting up his own website due to the nature of his degree. Every job opportunity recognizes different values – some still relying on traditional CVs and Cover Letters as I discovered this week in The University’s “Change Your World Week”. There was a LinkedIn Lab session as perfectly highlighted by Melinda’s tweet which helped to “pimp” the online “brand” that I present to recruiters. This proved fruitful as when speaking to the staff, they showed me how to alter my profile in order to appeal to online LinkedIn jobs, however the careers centre also highlighted the fact that paper CVs and Cover Letters are still very much in demand and how trivial online achievements come in handy in  the “Personal Interests/Additional Information” section.

An interesting discussion reignited a debate on Tom’s blog which made me think. Despite Twitter and Facebook helping authenticity, recruiters and online presence, they can be detrimental to one’s image which goes back to discussions in Topic 2. Should we be anonymous when posting about private/personal/social matters or should we try to link platforms like Melina suggests in order to prove we are active online as “digital residents” and therefore authentic?

Abby’s post also talked about the idea of personal branding. This really depends on what field you’re planning on going into. I may be in my final year at university but I’m still unsure of what I want to do once I graduate. Therefore I don’t really have a concrete “personal brand” built yet. I don’t know how to market myself on LinkedIn either when it asks me to choose “my industry”. LinkedIn isn’t very user-friendly in this respect to those like me who are uncertain of their career path.Changing my chosen industry however to each job application however is time-consuming and affects consistency.

linkedin

 

 

 

 

 

My comments (which you can see here and here) reflect on the question “are employers being too nosy when looking us all up online?”  Azam’s blog post however saw him talk about an info-graphic which was very appealing to me. 24% of employers look at industry knowledge and expertise as well as professional experience when screening candidates which I believe to key qualities in recruiting.

Leave a Reply

